Oliver Bahns

Oliver Bahns

Senior Vice President Connected Mobility

Digital assistants and connectivity – how AI and networks boost digitalization

Customer expectations regarding products and services are tremendously changing with the new generation of digital natives and screen agers. Innovation speed and automation, digital and direct customer access, as well as the adaptation or even reversion of traditional business models are crucial to persist and grow in a competitive environment.

The next generation network is ready to be launched and will enable a high-performance utilization of innovative technologies such as AI and VR for everyone. Chatbots, digital assistants and deep learning have left the research labs and provide unknown possibilities for process optimization and customer orientation. Deutsche Telekom already deploys artificial intelligence methods as a basis for digital customer interaction.

CV

After studying industrial engineering Oliver Bahns started his career in1995 as scientific assistant at the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft. 1998 he changed as a consultant to debis Systemhaus, the former IT branch of Daimler. Until 2008, Bahns headed the consulting and business development department of Industry Line Automotive at T-Systems, the corporate customers branch of Deutsche Telekom.

Since 2008, Oliver Bahns was Global Director Automotive und Aerospace at Hewlett Packard, with worldwide responsibility for industry strategy and business development activities in the areas of hardware, software and service. This included also the operational responsibility for the automotive enterprise service business in Central Europe.

Since January 2016, Oliver Bahns leads the business area Connected Mobility within T-Systems Digital Division, which bundles all company-wide activities around the topics connected car and connected mobility.

Bahns spent several years of his career in South Korea, Indonesia, China and the USA. Today, he and his family live near Stuttgart.

Oliver Bahns

Oliver Bahns

Senior Vice President Connected Mobility

Digitale Assistenten und Connectivity – wie KI und Vernetzung die Digitalisierung treiben

Die Erwartungen der Kunden an Produkte und Services verändern sich massiv durch die Generationen der digital Natives und Screen-Agers. Innovationsgeschwindigkeit, Automation, digitaler und direkter Kundenzugang – bis hin zur Anpassung und Umkehrung von tradierten Geschäftsmodellen sind entscheidend, um im Wettbewerb zu bestehen und zu wachsen.

Die nächste Generation von Connectivity steht in den Startlöchern und wird innovative Technologien wie KI und VR für jedermann performant verfügbar machen. Chatbots, digitale Assistenten und Deep Learning haben die Labore verlassen und eröffnen bisher ungeahnte Möglichkeiten der Prozessoptimierung und Kundenorientierung. Schon heute nutzt die Deutsche Telekom Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz als Basis für die digitale Interaktion mit ihren Endkunden.

Vita

Nach dem Wirtschaftsingenieur – Studium startete Oliver Bahns 1995 seine berufliche Laufbahn als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei der Fraunhofer Gesellschaft. 1998 wechselte er zum debis Systemhaus, der damaligen IT-Sparte des Daimler-Konzerns, und arbeitete dort im Consulting. Bis 2008 leitete Bahns bei T-Systems, der Großkundensparte der Deutschen Telekom, das Consulting und Business Development in der Industry Line Automotive.

Ab 2008 war Oliver Bahns bei Hewlett Packard als Global Director Automotive und Aerospace weltweit für die Industrie-Strategie und Business Development Aktivitäten über die Bereiche Hardware, Software und Service verantwortlich. Zuletzt übernahm er die operative Verantwortung für das Automotive Enterprise Service Geschäft in Central Europe.

Seit  Januar 2016 leitet Oliver Bahns das Geschäftsfeld Connected Mobility innerhalb der Digital Division der T-Systems, welches konzernweit die Themen um das vernetzte Fahrzeug und vernetzte Mobilität verantwortet.

Bahns verbrachte einige Jahre seiner Karriere in Süd Korea, Indonesien, China und den USA. Derzeit lebt er mit seiner Frau und zwei Töchtern in der Nähe von Stuttgart.