Olaf Schick

Olaf Schick

Head of Group Compliance and Chief Compliance Officer

Smart mobility needs data – opportunities and risks

Connected, autonomous driving as part of a mobility or service concept and with electric drive: That is what the future of mobility will look like.

Data is an important building block of intelligent mobility. It has never been easier to get from one place to another than it is already today, thanks to data and the intelligent interlinking of a wide range of mobility systems. But data is not only an important factor for personal convenience, it can also contribute to safety.

Collecting data is important for automated and autonomous driving for a variety of reasons. Data also plays an important role in questions of liability: It makes it possible to determine whether the automatic system was active or whether the human driver steered the vehicle. The legislator has realized that this data is an important factor in automated driving, and in drafting the first legal framework for the introduction of automated driving has introduced provisions for a mandatory operating mode recorder.

The opportunities to shape smart mobility based on data are huge. However, the goal must also be to consider potential effects on privacy and security in using the data. We take this responsibility very seriously. Daimler’s key cornerstones are transparency, self-determination, customer benefit and safety of all products. Data protection is of key importance. In addition, the responsible and secure handling of data is a prerequisite for the acceptance of smart mobility in society.

CV

Olaf Schick was born on February 15, 1972 in Tübingen. He studied law at the Universities of Nantes (France) and Mainz (Germany). In 1999, he gained a Master of Laws LL.M. at the University of Notre Dame, London.

Following various positions as a lawyer, he joined the Legal department at Daimler AG in 2004. As a legal specialist, he was active in the Mergers & Acquisitions department, and was Head of Mergers & Acquisitions at Daimler Greater China from 2010 until 2015. From 2015 to 2017, he was Chief Financial Officer at Mercedes-Benz Russia. Since March 2017, Olaf Schick has been Head of Group Compliance at Daimler AG and Chief Compliance Officer.

Olaf Schick

Olaf Schick

Leiter Group Compliance und Chief Compliance Officer

Intelligente Mobilität braucht Daten – Chancen und Risiken

Vernetzt, autonom fahrend, als Teil eines Mobilitäts- oder Servicekonzepts und mit elektrischem Antrieb: So wird die Zukunft der Mobilität aussehen.

Ein wichtiger Baustein der intelligenten Mobilität sind Daten. Bereits heute kommen wir aufgrund von Daten und der intelligenten Vernetzung verschiedenster Mobilitätssysteme so einfach wie noch nie von einem Ort zum anderen. Aber nicht nur für den individuellen Komfort sind Daten ein wichtiger Faktor; sie können auch zur Sicherheit beitragen.

Für das automatisierte und autonome Fahren ist es aus verschiedensten Gründen wichtig, Daten zu erheben. Auch bei der Haftungsfrage spielen Daten eine wichtige Rolle: mit ihnen lässt sich nachvollziehen, ob das automatische System aktiv war oder der menschliche Fahrer das Fahrzeug gesteuert hat. Der Gesetzgeber hat erkannt, dass diese Daten beim automatisierten Fahren ein wichtiger Faktor sind, und hat bei der Gestaltung des ersten rechtlichen Rahmens für die Einführung automatisierter Fahrsysteme einen verpflichtenden Fahrmodusspeicher vorgesehen.

Die Chancen, auf Basis von Daten die intelligente Mobilität zu gestalten, sind riesig. Es gilt jedoch auch, bei der Verwendung der Daten mögliche Auswirkungen auf Privatsphäre und Sicherheit zu beachten. Dieser Verantwortung sind wir uns bewusst. Insofern sind wesentliche Eckpfeiler für Daimler: Transparenz, Selbstbestimmung, Kundennutzen und Sicherheit bei allen Produkten. Datenschutz ist von zentraler Bedeutung. Der verantwortungsvolle und sichere Umgang mit Daten ist darüber hinaus Voraussetzung für die Akzeptanz der intelligenten Mobilität in der Gesellschaft.

Vita

Olaf Schick wurde am 15. Februar 1972 in Tübingen geboren. Er studierte Rechtswissenschaften an den Universitäten in Nantes/Frankreich und Mainz. 1999 erwarb er einen Master of Laws LL.M. an der University of Notre Dame, London.

Nach verschiedenen Stationen als Rechtsanwalt trat er 2004 in die Rechtsabteilung der Daimler AG ein. Als Jurist war er im Bereich Mergers & Acquisitions tätig, von 2010 bis 2015 leitete er den Bereich Mergers & Acquisitions bei Daimler Greater China. Von 2015 bis 2017 war er Chief Financial Officer bei Mercedes-Benz Russland. Seit dem 1. März 2017 ist Olaf Schick Leiter des Bereichs Group Compliance bei der Daimler AG und Chief Compliance Officer.