John Newman (Ph.D.)

Head of Digitalization, Audi AG

Audi’s Digitalization Strategy

Audi’s corporate strategy focuses on three major trends: sustainability, urban mobility and digitalization. The vision for digitalization is to make premium mobility in all its aspects effortless: from buying a car, through owning and using it, to reselling it. Audi has selected seven areas across the value chain on which to focus, using lessons from successful digital companies to establish a distinctive value proposition and enable rapid progress.

In his lecture, John will describe the development of Audi’s digitalization strategy, and how it is being implemented. Specifically, he will describe the major profit pools that the company is focused on. Separately, he will describe four main “guardrails” that the company is using to guide its digitalization efforts, with a particular emphasis on using digitalization to achieve greater simplicity.

Vita

John Newman was born in the United States. After graduating with a Bachelor of Science with special honors from the University of Chicago, he received his doctorate degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Here he was supported by a scholarship from the National Science Foundation, the state sponsorship program for fundamental research and education in the USA. In 2006, he completed his post-doctoral research at the University of California, San Francisco.

In the same year, John started his career at the management consulting firm McKinsey & Company in the San Francisco Office. He worked across the United States, Asia and Europe, where he provided creative and pragmatic advice to senior automotive and advanced-industry executives. His work focused on how to identify and capture new business opportunities, for example related to highly automated driving, advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) and connected cars.

After a decade at McKinsey & Company, John joined AUDI AG in 2016 as the Head of Digitalization, where he is responsible for Audi’s Digitalization Strategy. His department is focused on achieving significant profit from digital products and services.

John Newman (Ph.D.)

Head of Digitalization, Audi AG

Die Digitalisierungsstrategie von Audi

Die Unternehmensstrategie von Audi konzentriert sich auf drei große Trends: Nachhaltigkeit, urbane Mobilität und Digitalisierung. Die Vision der Digitalisierung ist es, Premium-Mobilität in all ihren Facetten mühelos zu gestalten: vom Kauf eines Autos, über den Besitz und die Nutzung bis hin zum Wiederverkauf. Audi hat sieben Bereiche in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette definiert, auf die sich das Unternehmen fokussiert. Dabei wurden Lehren aus den Erfahrungen anderer digitaler Unternehmen herangezogen. Ziel ist es, einen unverwechselbaren Wertbeitrag zu erzielen und schnelle Fortschritte zu ermöglichen.

In seinem Vortrag beschreibt John Newman die Entwicklung der Audi Digitalisierungsstrategie sowie deren Umsetzung. Zentrale Themen sind die wichtigsten Profitpools sowie die vier „Hauptleitplanken“, mit denen Audi seine Digitalisierungsinitiativen steuert. Im Zentrum steht dabei stets, durch Digitalisierung eine größere Einfachheit zu erreichen.

Vita

John Newman wurde in den Vereinigten Staaten geboren. Nach seinem erfolgreichen Studienabschluss mit dem Bachelor of Science, den er mit Auszeichnung (special honors) an der University of Chicago absolvierte, promovierte Newman am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Im Rahmen dessen erhielt er ein Stipendium von der National Science Foundation, dem staatlichen Förderungsprogramm für Wissenschaft und Forschung in den USA. Im Jahr 2006 beendete er mit seiner Promotion das Studium an der University of California, San Francisco.

Im selben Jahr begann er seine berufliche Karriere bei der Unternehmens- und Strategieberatung McKinsey & Company in San Francisco. In den Vereinigten Staaten, Asien und Europa arbeitete er mit Unternehmen aus der Automobil- sowie Spitzentechnologie-Branche zusammen. Der thematische Fokus lag dabei auf dem Erkennen und Erschließen neuer Geschäftsfelder, zum Beispiel im Bereich des hochautomatisierten Fahrens, der ADAS-Fahrerassistenzsysteme (Advanced Driver Assistance Systems) und von vernetzten Fahrzeugen.

Nach zehn Jahren bei McKinsey & Company wechselte John Newman 2016 als Head of Digitalization zur AUDI AG, wo er seither für die Digitalisierungsstrategie des Unternehmens verantwortlich ist. Seine Abteilung konzentriert sich darauf, signifikante Gewinne aus digitalen Produkten und Dienstleistungen zu erzielen.