Elmar Frickenstein

Elmar Frickenstein

Head of Driver Assistance Systems and Autonomous Driving

Disrupting the automotive industry: self-driving cars

The automotive industry is facing the next revolution with autonomous driving cars powered by new technologies, legal requirements for sustainability and safety as well as changing customer demands around mobility and ownership concepts. Remaining successful means developing partnerships, building up the right competences and driving transformational change now!

CV

Elmar Frickenstein is Senior Vice President for Fully Automated Driving and Driver Assistance at BMW Group. This area was re-established as part of the realignment of the corporate strategy of BMW and combines research as well as advanced and series development for one of the central issues of the future – the “Fully Automated Driving”.

Elmar Frickenstein began his career in the computer and aerospace industries and joined the BMW Group in 1988. After taking on a variety of management positions at BMW, he was appointed Senior Vice President in 2006 and was responsible for the division Electrics, Electronics and Driver Environment for a total of 10 years. Under his leadership AutoSAR, Ethernet as well as the first apps in the vehicle in 2009 became industry standards. In the area of display control concepts and networking, he and his team lead BMW to the benchmark in the automotive industry. ConnectedDrive has been expanded to 100 % networking of all BMWs and the vehicles of BMW became part of the “Internet of Things”. Last year, remote-controlled parking in the BMW 7 series was introduced as a world premiere under his responsibility – the first step towards highly automated driving.

Elmar Frickenstein is one of the pioneers of digitalization in the car. Since beginning his tenure at BMW, he pursues the vision of seamlessly networked and safe vehicles that can run fully automated in the future.

Elmar Frickenstein

Elmar Frickenstein

Bereichsleiter Vollautomatisiertes Fahren, Fahrerassistenz

Weckruf für die Automobil-Industrie: Autonomes Fahren

Neue Technologien, Gesetzesanforderung zu Umwelt-und Verbraucherschutz sowie sich verändernde Kundenbedürfnisse an Mobilität treiben die Entwicklung von Autonomen Fahrzeugen voran und zwingen die Automobilindustrie zum sofortigen Handeln. Die Zukunft liegt in umfassenden Investitionen in neue Technologien, cross-industriellen Kooperationen und einem grundlegenden Wandel der Strukturen.

Vita

Elmar Frickenstein ist Bereichsleiter für „Vollautomatisiertes  Fahren und Fahrerassistenz“ bei der BMW Group. Dieser Bereich wurde im Rahmen der Neuausrichtung der Unternehmensstrategie von BMW neu gegründet und bündelt Forschung, Vor- und Serienentwicklung für eines der zentralen Zukunftsthemen – das „Vollautomatisierte Fahren“.

Elmar Frickenstein begann seine Karriere in der Computer-, Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie und trat 1988 in die BMW Group ein. Nach einer Vielzahl von Führungspositionen bei BMW wurde er 2006 zum Bereichsleiter ernannt und verantwortete den Bereich Elektrik, Elektronik und Fahrerlebnisplatz insgesamt 10 Jahre. Unter seiner Führung wurden AutoSAR, Ethernet und 2009 die ersten Apps im Fahrzeug zu Industriestandards. Im Bereich Anzeigebedienkonzepte und Vernetzung führten er und sein Team BMW zum Benchmark in der Automobilindustrie. ConnectedDrive wurde zur 100% Vernetzung aller BMWs ausgebaut und die Fahrzeuge von BMW zum Bestandteil des „Internet of Things“. Im letzten Jahr wurde unter seiner Verantwortung das ferngesteuerte Parken im BMW 7er als Weltneuheit eingeführt – der erste Schritt zum hochautomatisierten Fahren.

Elmar Frickenstein ist einer der Pioniere der Digitalisierung im Auto. Seit Beginn seiner Tätigkeit bei BMW verfolgt er die Vision von nahtlos vernetzten und sicheren Fahrzeugen, die in Zukunft vollautomatisiert fahren können.