Dr. Katharina Schubert

Manager and Subject Owner for Blockchain at MHP Management- und IT-Beratung GmbH

Evolutionary blockchain use cases as the key to disruptive business models

Blockchain; not only a novelty in information technology, but also a cross-border change of perspective that invites us to completely rethink established processes. The blockchain phenomenon has been attracting attention across industries for a long time; use cases now go far beyond the original use case of the financial transaction. Especially in the automotive industry, which increasingly sees itself as a global network that forms the basis for new business models and the integration of new partners in an age of flexible mobility, an almost unlimited number of application scenarios can be created.

Nevertheless, use cases are often dealt with within system boundaries that are too rigid – and the invitation to completely reinvent established processes is thus rejected. As a result, the scalability, added value and disruption potential of blockchain-based pilot projects often remains very limited or is questionable, respectively. According to the current MHP study on the status quo and perspectives for the application of blockchain technologies in companies in the automotive industry, for which users and experts were surveyed, this is one of the reasons for the still low market maturity.

The key to relevant, advantageous blockchain use cases lies in the creation of evolutionary use cases, which can be tested in the pilot stage as well as extended successively and above all multi-dimensionally. Which dimensions need to be considered and which stages of evolution an exemplary use case from the field of mobility can go through will be presented in the lecture.

CV

Dr. Katharina Schubert is Manager and Subject Owner for Blockchain at MHP Management- und IT-Beratung GmbH. Since 2017, she is consulting firms across industries in the context of digital transformation and the development of innovative business models. Her holistic consulting approach is characterized by her interdisciplinary background and the experiences she gained during her research- and professional career.

Before joing MHP, Dr. Schubert was working as innovation manager for Enercon, being responsible for the development and implementation of a digital control stand.

She completed both her study and her PhD from 2006 until 2014 at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum. During that time she received two master’s degrees in mechanical engineering and sales engineering and product management. She additionally qualified for receiving a PhD scholarship in the context of an interdisciplinary research college.

Management- und IT-expertise for Mobility und Manufacturing. That is what MHP stands for. For its customers, the Porsche subsidiary digitalizes processes along the whole value chain. At 13 locations world-wide, more than 2300 employees take care of their customers – ranging from SMEs to large OEMs. Excellence is at the core of our philosophy at MHP.

Dr. Katharina Schubert

Manager und Subject Owner Blockchain bei MHP – A Porsche Company

Evolutionäre Blockchain Use Cases als Schlüssel zu disruptiven Geschäftsmodellen

Blockchain; nicht nur informationstechnisch ein Novum, sondern ein grenzüberschreitender Perspektivwechsel, der dazu einlädt, eingefahrene Prozesse vollständig neu zu denken. Das Phänomen Blockchain sorgt längst branchenübergreifend für Aufmerksamkeit, Anwendungsfälle gehen inzwischen weit über den originären Use Case der Finanztransaktion hinaus. Insbesondere in der Automobilindustrie, die sich immer mehr als globales Netzwerk, das im Zeitalter der flexiblen Mobilität die Basis für neue Geschäftsmodelle und die Einbindung neuer Partner darstellt, versteht, lässt sich eine schier unbegrenzte Anzahl von Anwendungsszenarien kreieren.

Dennoch werden Use Cases häufig in zu starren Systemgrenzen gedacht – und die Einladung der vollständigen Neuerfindung eingefahrener Prozesse somit abgelehnt. Dies hat zur Folge, dass die Skalierbarkeit, der Mehrwert und das Disruptionspotential von Blockchain-basierten Pilotprojekten häufig stark begrenzt bleibt bzw. fraglich ist. Dies ist laut der aktuellen MHP Studie zum Status-Quo und den Perspektiven der Anwendung von Blockchain-Technologien in Unternehmen der Automobilbranche, in der Anwender und Experten befragt wurden, einer der Gründe für die noch geringe Marktreife. 

Der Schlüssel zu relevanten, vorteilhaften Blockchain Use Cases liegt in der Kreation evolutionärer Anwendungsfälle, welche sowohl zunächst im Pilotstadium erprobt als auch sukzessive und vor allem multidimensional ergänzt werden können. Welche Dimensionen dabei zu berücksichtigen sind und welche Evolutionsstadien ein exemplarischer Use Case aus dem Bereich Mobilität durchleben kann, wird im Vortrag vorgestellt.

Vita

Dr. Katharina Schubert ist Manager und Subject Owner Blockchain bei der MHP Management- und IT-Beratung GmbH. Sie berät seit 2017 branchenübergreifend im Kontext der digitalen Transformation und der Entwicklung innovativer Geschäftsmodelle. Ihre holistischen Ansätze sind geprägt von Ihrem interdisziplinären Background und der Reflektion ihrer in Forschung und Industrie gesammelten Erfahrungen.

Vor Ihrer Zeit bei MHP war die promovierte Ingenieurin als Innovationsmanagerin bei Enercon tätig und verantwortlich für die Entwicklung und Einführung einer digitalen Leitwarte.

Ihr Studium sowie Ihre Promotion absolvierte sie von 2006 – 2014 an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. In dieser Zeit erwarb sie zwei Masterabschlüsse in Maschinenbau und Sales Engineering und Product Management und qualifizierte sich zudem für ein Promotionsstipendium im Rahmen eines interdisziplinären Forschungskollegs.

Management- und IT-Expertise für Mobility und Manufacturing. Dafür steht MHP. Bei seinen Kunden digitalisiert die Porsche-Tochtergesellschaft die Prozesse entlang der kompletten Wertschöpfungskette. Von 13 Standorten aus betreuen über 2300 Mitarbeiter weltweit ihre Kunden vom Mittelstand bis zum OEM. Die Philosophie von MHP ist Excellence.